About us | Who we are

Another Europe Is Possible was established to campaign for a radical ‘in’ vote in the EU referendum on 23rd June 2016. We said ‘stay in Europe to change Europe’.

We come from across the spectrum of the progressive left, working across party political lines to campaign for democracy, human rights, and social justice.

After the bitter disappointment of the referendum result we are continuing our campaign to defend the six progressive elements of EU membership. We identify those as workers’ rights, environmental sustainability, the free movement of people, human rights, science and research funding and transnational innovation.

We are also fighting for democracy in the Brexit process. That means transparency in the negotiations, and ensuring that corporate interests do not run riot and take over.  We are also arguing for a referendum on the terms of exit once they have been negotiated with Europe with an option to remain in the EU if the terms are rejected. We respect the referendum result, but there is no popular mandate for any particular exit.

For more information you can check out:

You can get in touch with us at any time at info@anothereurope.org


Organising group 

Michael Chessum, Momentum
Becky Luff, campaigner
Luke Cooper, academic at Anglia Ruskin University
Caroline Lucas MP, Green Party
Tom Walker, Red Pepper (pc)
Amelia Womack, Deputy Leader of the Green Party
Andrea Pisauro, Liberi e Uguali (UK)
Joseph Healy, Left Unity
Antje Scharenberg, campaigner
Angela Ghadery, DIEM (UK)
James Moulding, campaigner
Jack Lister, Labour Party activist
Joana Ramiro, journalist
John Palmer, former Guardian Europe editor
Joseph Meldau, activist
Mary Kaldor, Professor of Global Governance, LSE
Mohameed Ateek, Syrian activist
Mike Buckley, Labour Party activist
Zoe Gardner, migrant rights activist
Salman Shaheen, journalist
Niccolo Milanese, European Alternatives
Paula de Felipe, anti-Brexit campaigner
Marina Prentoulis, Syriza UK
Neal Lawson, Compass
Nick Dearden, Director Global Justice Now
Stella Tsantekidou, campaigner

Another Europe Is Possible ltd is a not for profit company limited by guarantee.

Promoted by Michael Chessum on behalf of Another Europe Is Possible, both at: c/o Housmans Bookshop, 5 Caledonian Rd, Kings Cross, London N1 9DY. Privacy policy.